Treat “Everyone” the Way You Want to be Treated?

Sure. I’ll just treat those that matter to me the way I want to be treated.

Yes, it’s a question. Living by the golden rule or doing to others as you would have them do unto you doesn’t apply only to those from whom you’re expecting fine treatment or any kind of treatment. It applies to everyone. Every. Single. Person.

Let me first say, I am a very huge advocate of the golden rule. I have received my fair share of terrible treatment (aka spoon of my own medicine) and I never want to experience it again. So, I consciously check how I’m treating others to ensure that I’m not sowing what I don’t want to reap. Mind you, that doesn’t necessarily mean that every treatment I give out is good. Nope. I won’t lie about that.

See, unfortunately, my closest friends will tell you that I’m mean and anything but nice, if you catch them off guard πŸ™„. That’s their own definition of tough love. I don’t know how to be a softie. I don’t even like softies. I roll my eyes when people cry around me, instead of doing something about why they’re crying. So, I don’t baby any of my close friends. P.S. if I baby you, you should question why we’re friends πŸ˜•.

I do this “tough love” thing because the only way I know how to express love is by practical means. If it means kicking you off of your ass to get something done, I will literally kick you until you’re standing, even if means we fight after that. At least, you’re standing and now going to do what needs to be done. That’s how I’d want to be pushed to productivity, so I’d do it to you (obviously with a prior mutual understanding πŸ™„).

Even strangers, subordinates, domestic staff, they’re all human beings! Anyone could become anything any day! If being equally treated good isn’t incentive enough to treat people good, and the unpredictability of anyone’s future isn’t good enough reason either, you can just stop reading πŸ˜•. No point, really. I mean, basically, these are all human beings just like you. They have red — oh, it’s really not blue or green or wine or the colour of their passports — blood and veins running through their bodies.

A lot of us cannot get past “Ugh! He’s so local. He’s beneath me socially and academically. She’s so razz. He’s just a security officer. She’s just a maid/help. He’s just my driver. I’m the boss, she’s the employee.” If you don’t trump that mentality, it’ll trump your humanity. (I think I just rhymed!! πŸ’ƒπŸΎ). Back to the point, it’s plain rude. It’s arrogant. That’s the black and white truth. You can paint it grey all you want. Your thoughts will influence your behaviour eventually, because angry and emotionally spontaneous moments are always moments perfect for being caught off guard.

Some go out into their circle of friends — or should I call it, their imaginary circle of friends — and begin to treat them with utmost charity. Those are the same ones who condescendingly sneer at others that just don’t measure up in one way or the other. I mean, you will meet some people that are factually beneath you in certain respects. But if you don’t treat them the way you’d want to be treated, you’re placing yourself beneath them. What’s the point of your puffed up shoulders, then?

P.S., the only time I can actually say that I consciously treat people the way I don’t want to be treated is when I’m turning a stubborn guy down and it leads to some not nice curving. I mean, I wouldn’t pester a stranger into giving me their number or continue bugging someone when they’ve said no to me, not that I make advances at anyone, anyway. πŸ˜‚ I don’t understand why guys try to make women feel bad and evil for turning them down. πŸ˜’ I don’t like you, is it by force? πŸ™„

πŸ˜ͺ In summary, two things: (1) show to others what you want to receive and (2) don’t give that treatment only to those that you think matter to you, give them to everyone you come across. I’m still learning and practising. πŸ™‚

Ooooo! This just came in: don’t use or play people if you don’t want to be used or played 😼. Uh huh.

That’s all for now! 😁 Until Wednesday! ✌🏾

Author: Manuella

There's an eternity worth of things to say, but to keep it short, I'm a very deep individual, an avid reader and student of humans and the things around us that we interact with. If you ask me, everything has the capacity to be the topic of a deep discussion, including toilet paper. In a discussion, I'd be that person that gets everyone (including the one who's making the most noise) to go "oooooooohh!!" My thoughts spark elements in people's brains. I love imparting knowledge and I kind of have an issue with conveniently unenlightened people, who like to voice their every opinion. I love the spiritual stuff!! God is too awesome for words. There's always something to blow my mind each time I plug in. God is so deep, it's ceaselessly fascinating for me. You should totally visit the spiritual part of my mind. It's indescribable. Insane adrenaline flowing in there!

Leave a Reply

