Chatting with More Than One Person at a Time is Multitasking

The Struggles of Multiple Open Distinct Chats…

I don’t know how people do it, but I sometimes find chatting with more than one person at a time, a bit tedious. It’s at its worst when, I’m laughing my head off in one conversation, and I have to be either civil, sober, serious or anything but laughing in another. 😕 Sometimes, I find myself transferring my “😂” response from spying the message in a notification banner, to a totally not-funny conversation that’s open. It’s usually something like this:


*starts typing response in open chat*
*reads hilarious message in notification banner, in the middle of open chat*
Open chat text box: Oh, that’s so sad 😂😂
*about to hit ‘Send’*
Me: 😲
*deletes emoji and replaces with “😕”*
Me: 😪


Seriously, chatting with more than one person at a time, whilst expressing opposite emotions in each, is a soft skill. 😩 I don’t know if anyone does it effortlessly or with practice, but I need to learn. 😕 Or, one of these days, I’ll laugh where I’m supposed to be sympathetic. I don’t even know why it’s never vice versa: why can’t I put a sad emoji where I’m supposed to laughing! That’s easier. 😩

Now, that is my own cup of tea. Some other people battle with the more common mishap of “wrong chat”. Oh, I’ve almost had my fair share of that, more than a few times. Keyword: almost. 😂 I’ve taken screenshots of conversations and almost shared them with the person in the screenshot. 😩 I’ve almost forwarded confidential messages to the wrong people. And of course, the most common of them: in a moment of overexcitement or being overwhelmed by the volume of messages, I’ve one too many times almost sent the absolutely wrong (😰-worthy) messages to the wrong people. Thank God for *I don’t even know what saves me every time*!

Merely not dropping your phone — or switching it off or putting it on DND — and throwing your hands up in the air, with multiple ongoing chats, deserves applauses!! If you can keep multiple unique chats going simultaneously, you’re a star! (I may need your services at some point). Well done! 🙌🏾

Successfully multi-chatting = multitasking. We need to start getting accreditation and recognition for it. End of story. 🏃🏾‍♀️

Author: Manuella

There's an eternity worth of things to say, but to keep it short, I'm a very deep individual, an avid reader and student of humans and the things around us that we interact with. If you ask me, everything has the capacity to be the topic of a deep discussion, including toilet paper. In a discussion, I'd be that person that gets everyone (including the one who's making the most noise) to go "oooooooohh!!" My thoughts spark elements in people's brains. I love imparting knowledge and I kind of have an issue with conveniently unenlightened people, who like to voice their every opinion. I love the spiritual stuff!! God is too awesome for words. There's always something to blow my mind each time I plug in. God is so deep, it's ceaselessly fascinating for me. You should totally visit the spiritual part of my mind. It's indescribable. Insane adrenaline flowing in there!

Leave a Reply

